You are here

EPA Names First Chemicals for Review Under LCSA

Dec 2016

As required by the new Frank R. Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act (LCSA), EPA has announced the first ten chemicals from its 2014 TSCA Work Plan to receive risk evaluations.  EPA was required to publish the list by December 19, 2016.

The ten chemicals include:

  • 1,4-Dioxane
  • 1-Bromopropane
  • Asbestos
  • Carbon Tetrachloride
  • Cyclic Aliphatic Bromide Cluster
  • Methylene Chloride
  • N-methylpyrrolidone
  • Pigment Violet 29
  • Tetrachloroethylene, also known as perchloroethylene
  • Trichloroethylene

Under the new law, EPA is required to draft scoping documents for each chemical within six months.  This will include the hazard(s), exposure(s), conditions of use, and the potentially exposed or susceptible subpopulation(s) the agency plans to consider for the evaluation. 

Next, the agency will complete risk evaluations on these chemicals within three years.  If EPA determines that a chemical presents an unreasonable risk to humans or the environment, it must take action to mitigate that risk within two years.

LCSA requires EPA to have at least 20 chemical risk evaluations underway by 2020.  For each risk evaluation the agency completes, it must begin another.

Read more.